This article explains how to temporarily disable HotDoc when you have to close your clinic due to unforeseen or sudden circumstances (e.g. emergencies or COVID-19).
This helps ensure that patients cannot book and do not turn up for appointments while you are closed.
|
In this article |
1. Turn off online bookings
-
Head to Bookings > Appointment Types in the Dashboard and select Edit next to the appointment type that requires updating:
-
Untick Enabled for online appointments:
-
Update your appointment type message to advise patients that they cannot book due to temporary closure and select Save:
-
Repeat the above steps for any other appointment type that you do not want patients to book while you are closed.
-
You can also hide any upcoming sessions from the online bookings page using Hide Session. For more information, please see: How to hide or remove a session
An alternative to disabling all appointment types for online bookings is turning on Telehealth only mode. For more information, please see: How to activate Telehealth only mode ⓘ Telehealth only
2. Turn off appointment reminders
To stop appointment reminders while you are closed, head to Reminders > Settings and select Off under Activate Reminders:
3. Update the alert message on your practice profile
Alert Messages display at the top of your online bookings page and are a great way to communicate important information to your patients.
To update your Alert Message, head to Setup > Practice Profile > Alert Message:
4. Send a broadcast
| If you would like to contact patients with an upcoming appointment, you can do so with Broadcast. For more information, please see: How to create a Broadcast SMS |
5. What to do when you reopen
-
Reactivate bookings via Bookings > Appointment Types > Edit. Be sure to remove any message advising that your clinic is closed. For more information, please see: How to add, edit or remove appointment types
-
Turn reminders back on via Reminders > Settings > Activate Reminders:
- Remove any Alert Message advising that the clinic is closed via Setup > Practice Profile > Alert Message. For more information, please see: Editing your Practice Profile